previous arrow
next arrow

Welcome to our web site

UK Bus Awards appoints new director

Stuart WildeThe company that runs the UK Bus Awards has announced a strengthening of its board, with the appointment of Stuart Wilde as a director.

Stuart retired in January 2008 from his post as managing director of bus operating group Blazefield Holdings, the business he co-owned with Giles Fearnley from 1991 until it was sold to French transport group Transdev in 2006. During his years, Stuart had responsibility for bus operations in London, the Home Counties, Yorkshire and Lancashire, though latterly the group’s operations were concentrated in the north of England.

Commenting on his appointment, UKBA chairman John Owen said, “Stuart brings a wide range of industry experience to the organisation, and we are delighted to welcome him to the management of the UK’s premier passenger transport awards scheme.”

Stuart Wilde said, “I enjoyed my 25 years in the bus industry immensely, and am therefore very pleased to be joining the UKBA board. Both Blazefield and Transdev are previous winners and finalists at the awards, so I know how important the scheme is in promoting the industry. I am therefore delighted to have the opportunity to help take the awards scheme further.”

At the same time, UKBA announced the retirement of John Carr from the board at the end of 2007. He was appointed vice-chairman of UKBA in 2004, but had been associated with industry awards since the launch of the Bus Good Practice Awards in 1991. John Owen commented, “We are all immensely grateful for John Carr’s hard work over the years, and will miss him. However, we fully understand that his many other activities in transport mean that his time is now limited. We wish him every success in the future.”


The TEG logoThe UK Bus Awards scheme is organised by The Bus Industry Awards Limited, a company registered in England & Wales No 3332837.

Registered Office: Albion House, Rope Walk, Otley Street, Skipton, North Yorkshire, BD23 1ED.

Telephone 0330 010 3450

All material in this web site is copyright. © The Bus Industry Awards Limited.

Joomla! is Free Software released under the GNU/GPL License.