News Blog

UK Bus Awards 2017 - competition now open!

UKBA chairman Mark YexleyAwards to recognise management talent and safety schemes as scope extended in new competition

The bus industry is being asked to to demonstrate how managers are rising to the challenge of providing leadership and inspiration to their staff in this year's UK Bus Awards competition.

The 22nd annual contest has officially begun, with entries now open until early June. Nominations are invited to compete for 21 awards covering the full range of skills required to plan, promote and deliver high quality bus services to customers.

A number of changes have been made to the scheme, including the introduction of a new Leadership and Inspiration Award, designed to recognise and reward achievements by middle and senior managers. A new award for Innovation in Road Safety is also being introduced in conjunction with the Road Operators' Safety Council.

Filling gaps

Mark Yexley, UK Bus Awards Chairman, said: "These two new awards will fill some gaps in our scheme. It is important to have an opportunity to recognise and reward our really talented middle and senior managers in the industry, and also to cover the critical subject of safety to our passengers and other road users." The new safety category will replace the presentation of ROSCO's driving award, which will be switched to another event.

He emphasised that the questions of technological advance and customer expectations were still central concerns of the awards organisers as well. "Customer expectations and our ability to use technology to meet them are both still evolving at a rapid pace," commented Mark. "Our New Horizons Award was specifically designed to focus on this field last year, and we were delighted with the response; so we're really looking forward to seeing a whole range of new projects and ideas this year."

There will be no competition specifically for local authorities in 2017. Mark explained, "Our other categories such as Making Buses a Better Choice, Putting Passengers First and the two marketing awards are ideal for authorities and partnerships to enter, so we'll be encouraging them to participate in this way."

Other detailed changes

Detailed changes have been made to other criteria following feedback from stakeholders and from the panels of independent judges. Over 40 volunteers help every year with assessing the entries, undertaking interviews and carrying out mystery travelling. "We're immensely grateful for their time and effort," said Mark Yexley, "and we take their feedback on our criteria very seriously." He thanked convenor of judges John Owen and other management committee members for their help in feeding back and consulting widely on their verdicts over the winter. "We work hard to ensure that the awards remain relevant, and adapt to rapidly changing circumstances. For that reason, we review everything we do every year," he added.

Key dates for the awards in 2017 include a closing date for entries of Friday 9 June, a finalists' announcement on 12 October with the annual presentation ceremony being set for lunchtime on Tuesday 21 November, at Troxy in East London.

Further information on how to enter can be obtained by CLICKING HERE, including links to the nomination forms for viewing and downloading. 

Award Categories for 2017

Professional and Technical Awards

  • Making Buses a Better Choice: the Peter Huntley Memorial Award
  • Putting Passengers First
  • The Bus and the Community Award
  • Environment Award
  • New Horizons Award
  • The Award for Marketing Initiative of the Year
  • The Award for Sustained Marketing Excellence
  • ROSCO Award for Innovation in Road Safety

Operating Awards

  • Top Independent Operator
  • Top City Operator
  • Top Shire Operator
  • UK Bus Operator of the Year
  • The Top National Bus Depot

Awards for People in the Industry

  • Leadership and Inspiration Award
  • Young Manager of the Year
  • Engineer of the Year
  • Top National Bus Driver: the Chris Moyes Memorial Award
  • Unsung Heroes Award
  • Services to the Bus Industry

London Awards

  • London Bus Garage of the Year
  • Luke Rees-Pulley Award for Top London Bus Driver

The TEG logoAll material in this web site is copyright. © The Bus Industry Awards Limited 2017.
The UK Bus Awards scheme is organised by The Bus Industry Awards Limited
Rossholme, West End, Long Preston, Skipton, North Yorkshire, BD23 4QL
Telephone: 0330 010 3450

The Bus Industry Awards Limited is a company registered in England & Wales No 3332837. 
Registered Office: Albion House, Rope Walk, Otley Street, Skipton, North Yorkshire, BD23 1ED.

Joomla! is Free Software released under the GNU/GPL License.