UKBA 2009 Results List

Operating Awards

The UK Bus Operator of the Year, sponsored by Belmont International and QBE

  • Winner:     Brighton & Hove Bus and Coach Company
  • Runners Up:    Western Greyhound

The Optare Shire Operator of the Year

  • Winners:     Transdev Yellow Buses
  • Runners Up:     Stagecoach Bluebird
  • Highly Commended:
    •    Stagecoach in Fife    
    •    Stagecoach in Warwickshire    
    •    Transdev Burnley & Pendle
    •    Transdev Yorkshire Coastliner

The City Operator of the Year

  • Winners:     Brighton & Hove Bus and Coach Company
  • Runners Up:     Stagecoach Manchester
  • Highly Commended:  
    • First Glasgow 
    • Nottingham City Transport
    • Stagecoach North East   

The Scania Independent Operator of the Year

  • Winners:    Western Greyhound
  • Joint Runners Up:
    • Konectbus
    • Norfolk Green
  • Highly Commended:  
    • Ipswich Buses
    • Quality Line - Epsom Coaches Group    

The Volvo Express Coach Operation of the Year Award

  • Winners:    Route X5, Oxford to Cambridge, Stagecoach East
  • Runners Up:    Green Line 757, London to Luton Airport, Arriva the Shires
  • Highly Commended:  
    • RailAir Reading to Heathrow, First London & Berkshire
    • East Scotland Express Network, Stagecoach Scotland
    • National Express Route 444, Gloucester to London, Stagecoach in Gloucester

The Transport Authority of the Year

  • Winner:    Cambridgeshire County Council

Technical Awards

The Infrastructure Award

  • Winners:     Primelines Partnership, Coventry City Council and partners
  • Joint Runners Up:   
    • The Landore Express Bus Route, City and County of Swansea
    • Swansea Ftrmetro, First Cymru
  • Highly Commended:   
    • A23 Decongestion Project: Redhill – Horley Quality Bus Corridor, Surrey County Council    
    • Doncaster Bus Infrastructure, South Yorkshire Passenger Transport Executive
    • Lisburn BusCentre Project, Translink
    • Scarborough Park & Ride, North Yorkshire County Council and partners

The BAA Heathrow Award for Integration

  • Winners:    Fife’s Transport Hubs, Fife Council
  • Runners Up:    Norfolk’s School Run Park & Ride, Norfolk County Council    

The CBS Outdoor Bus Marketing Campaign of the Year

  • Winner:     Bluestar 1 –“Star Quality”, Go South Coast
  • Runners Up:     Club Skylink, a Customer Relationship Management strategy, The East Midlands Airport Bus Partnership
  • Highly Commended:    
    • Norfolk’s School Run Park and Ride, Norfolk County Council
    • Stagecoachgold, Stagecoach Group
    • Travel Route 60 Style, Stagecoach South    
    • Metro Connects, Translink

The Alexander Dennis Innovation Award

  • Winners:     EcoManager, Arriva North West
  • Runners Up:    Small Changes, Big Difference: the FirstGroup Climate Change Strategy
  • Highly Commended:  
    • Go Green, Go-Ahead London
    • Presence on Facebook, Metrobus    
    • Carbon Stoppers, Transdev Yellow Buses

The Bus in the Countryside

  • Winners:     Norfolk Green and Norfolk County Council – Coasthopper
  • Runners Up:    Coast and Castles Connection, Arriva North East
  • Highly Commended:    
    • Breeze up to the Downs, Brighton & Hove City Council
    • Bringing ‘Vitality’ to Reading Buses, Reading Transport
    • Humber FastCat, Stagecoach East Midlands and East Yorkshire Motor Services

The Department for Transport Award for Winning New Customers

  • Winners:     Go2 West Bridgeford: Introducing a Vehicle So Advanced, You Don’t Even Have to Drive It, Nottingham City Transport
  • Runners Up:    Putting the Friday Fun back into Bus Travel - Translink
  • Highly Commended:    
    • We are Derby, Arriva Midlands    
    • Fancy a Spin? First Glasgow    
    • The Ulink Bus Service, Wessex Connect and the University of Western England
    • X2 Preston to Liverpool. Stagecoach North West

Awards for People in the Industry

Engineer of the Year Award sponsored by the Institute of Road Transport Engineers

  • Winner:    Mike Brinicombe, Stagecoach Manchester
  • Runner Up:    Phil Cummins, Arriva Yorkshire    
  • Highly Commended:     
    • Alan Pratt, First Devon & Cornwall
    • Keith Ward, Reading Transport

The Young Manager of the Year, sponsored by the Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport

  • Winner:     Christina Ratcliffe, Stagecoach South West
  • Runner Up:     Ed Wills, Transdev Yellow Buses
  • Highly Commended:    
    • Rosie Stewart,    First Glasgow
    • Mark Kipling, National Express West Midlands

The Chris Moyes Memorial Award for Top National Bus Driver sponsored by Passenger Focus

  • Winner:    Barry Allitt, TrentBarton
  • Runner Up:    Patricia Taylor, Arriva North East
  • Highly Commended:  
    • Billy Cook, Go North East
    • Brian Gosling, Arriva the Shires & Essex
    • Graham Killingworth, Arriva North East
    • Karen Parker, First in Berkshire

The Award for Services to the Industry, sponsored by Giles Fearnley and Stuart Wilde

  • Winner:    Steve Clayton

Accessibility: The Claudia Flanders Memorial Award sponsored by the TAS Partnership

  • Winner:    The TITAN Project, Norfolk County Council

London Awards

The TfL Surface Transport Award for London Bus Garage of the Year

  • Winner:    Epsom, Quality Line - Epsom Coaches Group
  • Runners Up:    Brentford, Metroline
  • Highly Commended:    
    • Hayes, Abellio London
    • Grays, Arriva Kent Thameside
    • Palmers Green, Arriva London
    • Waterloo, Go-Ahead London

The TfL Surface Transport London Service Quality Award

  • Winners:     Route 195, 4 days to Start a Service, First London
  • Runners Up:    Hayes Garage Operations Team, Abellio London
  • Highly Commended:   
    • Putney Garage Engineering Team, Go-Ahead London    
    • Hounslow CCTV Team, Transdev London

The Luke Rees-Pulley Charitable Trust Award for Top London Bus Driver

  • Winner:    Winston Dottin, First London
  • Joint Runners Up:  
    • Grantley Best, Arriva London
    • Kevin West, Transdev London
  • Highly Commended:    
    • Harjinder Banbheru, First London
    • Comfort Nkrumah, First London
    • Hilbert Williams, CT Plus
    • Bob Wiltshire, Go-Ahead London
    • Stephen Winfield, Go-Ahead London


The TEG logoThe UK Bus Awards scheme is organised by The Bus Industry Awards Limited, a company registered in England & Wales No 3332837.

Registered Office: Albion House, Rope Walk, Otley Street, Skipton, North Yorkshire, BD23 1ED.

Telephone 0330 010 3450

All material in this web site is copyright. © The Bus Industry Awards Limited.

Joomla! is Free Software released under the GNU/GPL License.