Awards Results


CfIT Chairman Peter Hendy presented the 2005 awardsResults 2005

The UK Bus Awards 2005 took place at a lunchtime ceremony in London’s Hilton Hotel, Park Lane on Wednesday 9th November. Hosted by BBC’s Stephanie Flanders, the event recognised those who have made the most significant contribution, either by individual effort or with schemes which have set new standards for bus travel - examples of best practice for others to follow.

Transport Minister Karen Buck, in a keynote speech relayed by video, noted that, where local authorities and operators were working closely together bus patronage had increased dramatically and that the introduction of quality services encouraged greater bus use and reduced congestion.

Winners, selected from a shortlist of 67 nominations, were presented with the awards for 2005 by Peter Hendy, chair of the Commission for Integrated Transport and Managing Director, Surface Transport at Transport for London.

The winners were as follows:

Belmont International Bus Operator of the Year

  • Overall Winner: Stagecoach West Scotland
  • Winner (smaller fleets): Western Greyhound
  • Winner (large fleets): Stagecoach West Scotland

Viacom Outdoor Bus Marketing Campaign of the Year

  • Winner: Wilts and Dorset - More
  • Runner up: Stagecoach UK Bus - Where you want to be

TFL London Customer Service Champion of the Year

  • Winner: Mark Knowles, Driver, Edgware Garage Metroline
  • Highly commended: Mohammed Mudey, night driver - Walworth garage, Travel London
  • Route 149 team - Arriva London
  • Sultan Dar, driver -Hackney garage, First London
  • Tina King, Garage Support Assistant - Bexleyheath garage, London Central
  • Tom Kakayire, driver – Ash Grove garage, CT Plus

Awards host Stephanie Falnders from the BBCTf London Bus Garage of the Year

  • Winner: Waterden Road (Stagecoach London)
  • Highly commended: Bow Garage (Stagecoach London)
  • Dartford Garge (Arriva Kent Thameside)
  • Fulwell Garage (London United)
  • Stamford Brook Garage (London United)
  • Willesden Junction Garage (First London)

The Claudia Flanders Award for Accessibility

  • Winner: Stagecoach in Oxfordshire - Oxford Tube
  • Runner up: Travel Dundee - Travel Dundee 100%

BAA Heathrow Customer Service Team of the Year

  • Winner: South Yorkshire PTE - Doncaster Frenchgate Interchange

Neoman Bus UK Transport Authority of the Year

  • Winner: Nottingham City Council
  • Runner up: Brighton & Hove City Council

Bus & Coach Professional Technical Development Award

  • Winner: Wheelsure
  • Runner up: Arriva Midlands - Ruralink

Active Integration Award

  • Winner: Nottingham City Council & Partners - Nottingham Link bus project
  • Runner up: Arriva Midlands - Ruralink

Award for Innovation

  • Winner: First in Aberdeen - working with young people to change attitudes towards buses
  • Runner up: Nottingham City Transport - Easyrider anytime

Successful Partnership Award

  • Winner: Brighton and Hove Bus Co with Brighton and Hove City Council - Growing bus use for more than a cade
  • Runner up: Lincolnshire Road Car Company with Lincolnshire County Council - The Interconnect project

Energy Saving Trust Award for Social Responsibility

  • Winner: Cardiff Bus
  • Runner up: Go-Ahead Group - environmental and social report website

Backhouse Jones Award for Services to the Bus Industry

  • Dr Caroline Cahm, MBE, PhD

Special 10th Anniversary Award ‘The Really Good Bus Operator’

  • Trent Barton