Awards Results


The then transport secretary Alastair Darling address the ceremony in 2003The prizes for Bus Industry Awards 2003 were presented on 5th November to an audience of almost 600 industry representatives at the prestigious London Hilton Hotel. 

Praise for the industry's efforts to improve all aspects of its work came from principal guest speaker, the Secretary of State for Transport, the Rt Hon Alistair Darling MP, and from the Chief Executive of GNER, Christopher Garnett, who presented the awards in 14 categories. The Strategic Address came from Chris Moyes, deputy chief executive of The Go-Ahead Group and the 2003 President of the Confederation of Passenger Transport UK.

Independent bus operator, Trent Barton, proved that small could indeed be beautiful when the company achieved the first Bus Awards hat trick, collecting their third Marsh Bus Operator of the Year Award at today’s Bus Industry Awards. Trent also came first and second in the Viacom Outdoor Marketing Award for Bus Operators.

The then GNER boss Chris GarnettTrent was not alone in celebrating a multiple win. Lancashire County Council won two awards, Infrastructure and Marketing for Local Authorities, and was runner-up in a third category. Northern Ireland’s Translink also achieved the double, taking the prize for Buses for Pleasure and CfIT’s Customer Service Award, sponsored by BAA Heathrow.

In the Transport for London Award for the London Bus Garage of the Year, operator London Central made it two in a row. Not with Bexleyheath as last year, but with Peckham Garage.

2003 Finalists line up at the Short-List Announcement in Birmingham

Bus Industry Awards 2003 - Results

Marsh Bus Operator Of The Year Award

  • Winner: Trent Barton
  • Runner-Up: Blazefield – East Lancashire
  • Judge’s Commendation: Cardiff City Transport

Wedlake Saint Award For Services To The Bus Industry Award

  • Recipient: Brian Hirst

Transport For London Award For The London Bus Garage Of The Year

  • Winner: Peckham Garage - London Central
  • J-Runner-Up: Sutton – London General
  • J-Runner-Up: Stamford Brook – London United

Viacom Outdoor Marketing Award For Bus Operators

  • Winner: Trent Barton, ‘Rainbow 5 Relaunch’
  • Runner-Up: Trent Barton, ‘Frio’
  • Judge’s Commendation: Trent Barton, ‘Really Good Service Awards’

CfiIT Transport Customer Service Award, Sponsored By BAA Heathrow

  • Winner: Translink
  • Runner-Up: First In Aberdeen

Accessibility: Claudia Flanders Memorial Award, Sponsored By Tripscope

  • Winner: Metro, ‘Leeds Buddying Scheme’
  • Runner-Up: Merseytravel, ‘Here To There With Merseytravel’

The SchlumbergerSema Eureka! Award

  • Winner: Stagecoach Manchester, ‘Unirider Summer On-Line Ticket’
  • Runner-Up: First South Yorkshire, ’Off-Peak Firstday Telemarketing Project

BP Award For Innovation

  • Winner: Cheshire County Council, ‘Chester Travelcard Scheme’
  • Runner-Up: Lothian Buses, ‘Gosmart’

Infrastructure Award

  • Winner: Lancashire County Council & Burnley Borough Council, ‘Burnley Bus Station’
  • Runner-Up: Telford & Wrekin Borough Council & Arriva Midlands, ‘Telford Bus Station - Rail Station’

Buses For Pleasure Award

  • Winner: Translink, ‘Translink Abc Scheme’
  • Runner-Up: Brighton & Hove City Council & Partners, ‘Breeze Up To The Downs’

Environment Award

  • Winner: FirstGroup
  • Runner-Up: Go-Ahead Group

Bus Employee Of The Year Award

  • Winner: Alan Payton, Cambridgeshire County Council
  • Runner-Up: Stuart Tilley, Nottingham City Transport
  • Judge’s Award: Javid Shah, Metro

Marketing Award For Local Authorities And Joint Projects

  • Winner: Lancashire County Council & Lancashire United, ‘Routex1/X2’
  • Runner-Up: Northamptonshire County Council & Partners, ‘Corby Star’
  • Judge’s Commendation: Lancashire County Council & Preston North End Fc, ‘Soccerbus’

Bus In The Countryside Award

  • Winner: Hampshire County Council, ‘Hampshire Cango Further’
  • Runner-Up: Lancashire County Council, ‘Rural Real Time Information’

The TEG logoThe UK Bus Awards scheme is organised by The Bus Industry Awards Limited, a company registered in England & Wales No 3332837.

Registered Office: Albion House, Rope Walk, Otley Street, Skipton, North Yorkshire, BD23 1ED.

Telephone 0330 010 3450

All material in this web site is copyright. © The Bus Industry Awards Limited.

Joomla! is Free Software released under the GNU/GPL License.