Awards Results


The then chairman of CfIT David Begg addresses the 2002 awards ceremonyThe 2002 Bus Industry Awards were presented in London on 19 November 2002 at the London Hilton Hotel by Professor David Begg, Chair of the Commission of Integrated Transport, with TV ‘Blockbuster’ Bob Holness presiding.

In the prestigious Marsh UK Bus Operator of the Year Award, runners up Trent Barton achieved their fourth top-two placing in four years, but were just pipped in what judges described as a "desperately close contest" by winners Harrogate & District Travel, a subsidiary of Blazefield. In the Queensbury Shelters Infrastructure Award, the new West Bromwich bus station, entered by Centro and Sandwell Council, edged Metro’s Keighley bus station into second place.

TV veteran Bob Holness compered the 2002 ceremonyMetro’s entry for the £12m Bradford Guided Bus project, highly commended in Infrastructure Category, also achieved second prize in the Claudia Flanders Memorial Award, which recognises improvements to the accessibility of bus services. Top prize in this category went to Arriva Yorkshire and its partners for the ‘ANNOUNCE’ system, which provides visual and audible announcements on buses, to help both visually and aurally impaired people. This project also scooped this year’s Innovation Award.

Cornish bus operator Truronian achieved a victory for its partnership with the ground-breaking Eden Project in the Buses for Pleasure category. The hugely successful "Eden Branchline" bus route links the attraction with the national rail network. Also in the West Country, Devon County Council achieved second place in the Bus in the Countryside competition for its East Devon Flexi-Services. Winner of this category was the partnership between Stagecoach and Northamptonshire on the rapidly growing Route 500, which links the midlands towns of Banbury and Brackley. Stagecoach also won the Viacom Outdoor Marketing Award for Bus Operators with its witty and innovative "Uni-rider" advertising campaign, launched in Manchester but now rolled out across the country.

The Go-Ahead Group picked up five major prizes: in London, it achieved a one-two in the Transport for London Bus Garage of the Year competition, with London Central’s Bexleyheath Garage winning the top prize, whilst the Orpington Garage of fellow group subsidiary Metrobus was runner-up. The group also won the Eureka! Award, for its innovative Education Packs, developed in Tyneside. On the South Coast, its multi-award winning Brighton & Hove subsidiary scooped the brand new CfIT Customer Service Award, sponsored by BAA Heathrow. Finally, the group’s independently-audited annual report on the environmental impact of its activities won it the runner-up spot in the Environment Award.

A ground-breaking project undertaken by Arriva London, in conjunction with Lubrizol, BP and London Buses earned the top prize in the Environment category, using high-tech products to reduce bus emissions.

BIA’s 2002 Bus Employee of the Year was named as Brendan Scanlon, Route Coordinator with London United Busways, and the recipient of this year’s Wedlake Saint Award for Services to the Bus Industry, was Brian Cox, recently retired from Stagecoach.

Jubilee colours to the fore as finalists for 2002 line up at the NEC in Birmingham


For the first time in seven years, the BIA Management Committee presented a special prize, to Greater Manchester PTE and their artners for the provision of bus services for the 2002 Commonwealth Games. Presenting the prize with Barry Moore, BIA Chairman, was Manchester Games gold medal winner, Gareth Herbert.

The Marsh UK Bus Operator Of The Year Award

  • Winner: Harrogate and District Travel Limited
  • Runner-Up: Trent And Barton Buses

Queensbury Shelters Infrastructure Award

  • Winner: Centro With Sandwell Council: ‘West Bromwich Bus Station’
  • Runner-Up: Metro And Partners: ‘Keighley Bus Station’

Transport For London Award For The London Bus Garage Of The Year

  • Winner: Bexleyheath Garage - London Central
  • Runner-Up: Orpington Garage – Metrobus

Viacom Outdoor Marketing Award For Bus Operators

  • Winner: Stagecoach Manchester: ‘Uni-Rider Campaign, Manchester’
  • Runner-Up: Nottingham City Transport: ‘Go2 – A Tram-Like Bus Service From Nct’

CfIT Customer Service Award, Sponsored By BAA Heathrow

  • Winner: Brighton And Hove Bus And Coach Company Limited

Accessibility: The Claudia Flanders Memorial Award, sponsored By Tripscope

  • Winner: Arriva Yorkshire And Partners: ‘Announce’
  • Runner-Up: Metro And Partners: ‘Bradford, Manchester Road Quality Bus Partnership’

Eureka! Award

  • Winner: Go-Ahead Group: ‘Go-Ahead Education Packs’
  • Runner-Up: Metro: ‘Something For Nothing’

Innovation Award

  • Winner: Arriva Yorkshire And Partners: ‘Announce’
  • Runner-Up: Lancashire County Council, With Skycastle: ‘Traveline Sms Service’

The Bus In The Countryside Award

  • Winner: Stagecoach South Midlands And Partners: ‘Route 500 – Brackley To Banbury’
  • Runner-Up: Devon County Council And Partners: ‘East Devon Flexi-Services’

The Buses For Pleasure Award

  • Winner: Truronian And Partners: ‘Eden Branch Line’
  • Runner-Up: Merseytravel And Partners: ‘Soccerbus’

Environment Award

  • Winner: Arriva London
  • Runner-Up: The Go-Ahead Group

Bus Employee of The Year Award

  • Winner: Brendan Scanlon, Route Coordinator, London United
  • Runner-Up: Alex Smith, Park And Ride Coordinator, Cambridge City Council

Marketing Award For Local Authorities And Joint Projects

  • Winner: Derbyshire County Council With Derby City Council And Supporters:
  • Runner-Up: Stagecoach In Cambridge & Cambridgeshire County Council: ‘Citi-Cambridge’

Wedlake Saint Services To The Bus Industry Award

  • Recipient: Brian Cox

First Ever BIA Special Commendation

  • Greater Manchester PTE And Partners, For The Commonwealth Games Bus Project