Awards Results


The 1997 awards took place at the Dorchester Hotel on Park Lane, and the guest of honour was Transport Minister Glenda Jackson MP. Almost 400 people attended the event.

The results were:

Bus Operator of the Year, sponsored by Belmont International

  • First Aberdeen
  • Runners Up: First PMT Limited

Infrastructure Award, sponsored by Queensbury Shelters

  • Line 33, Centro and partners
  • Runners Up: The Blackpool Handybus Scheme, Blackpool Transport

Marketing Initiative Award - Bus Operator

  • The Route N29 Marketing Initiative, Arriva London North
  • Runners Up: The Excel Service First Eastern Counties

Marketing Initiative Award - Local Authority/Joint

  • Promoting the use of bus to school pupils, West Sussex County Council and Stagecoach Coastline
  • Runners Up: The MegaTravel Initiative, South Yorkshire PTE

Innovation Award

  • The Northampton Northern Corridor Quality Bus Partnership, Northamptonshire County Council, and partners
  • Runners Up: Easibus, Translink

The TEG logoThe UK Bus Awards scheme is organised by The Bus Industry Awards Limited, a company registered in England & Wales No 3332837.

Registered Office: Albion House, Rope Walk, Otley Street, Skipton, North Yorkshire, BD23 1ED.

Telephone 0330 010 3450

All material in this web site is copyright. © The Bus Industry Awards Limited.

Joomla! is Free Software released under the GNU/GPL License.