Awards Results


A return to the Dorchester Hotel in 1999 saw us welcoming transport minister Keith Hill MP for the first time as keynote speaker, alongside guest of honour Professor David Begg, chair of the new Commission for Integrated Transport. It was the first ceremony to engage the services of a production company, Gemini Productions, who remain associated with the awards 17 years later.

The winners for the year were:

Bus Operator of the Year, sponsored by Belmont International

  • Trent & Barton Buses
  • Runners up Stagecoach Western Buses

London Operator Award, sponsored by Marsh UK

  • CentreWest London Buses
  • Runners Up: Metrobus

Infrastructure Award, sponsored by Queensbury Shelters

  • Cambridgeshire Park and Ride, Cambridgeshire County Council
  • Runners Up: Stirling Bus Station, Stirling Council

Marketing Initiative Award - Bus Operators

  • The Harlequin Service, Trent & Barton Buses
  • Runners Up: Green Line 757, Arriva The Shires with Green Line Travel

Marketing Initiative Award - Local Authority/Joint

  • Key Route 113, Cambridgeshire County Council and Stagecoach Cambus
  • Runners Up: The Rural Bus Services Marketing Campaign, Lancashire County Council

The Marketing First Award

  • The Swap Your Banger for a Bus Campaign, First Glasgow
  • Runners Up: Vouchers and Free Samples, Trent and Barton Buses

Innovation Award, sponsored by Sema Group

  • The New Oxford Tube, Stagecoach Oxford
  • Runners Up: InterConnect, Lincolnshire County Council and partners

The Bus in the Countryside Award

  • InterConnect, Lincolnshire County Council and Partners
  • Runners up: The Atlantic Coast Express, First Western National, with Cornwall & Devon County Councils

Buses for Pleasure Award

  • The Hadrian’s Wall Bus, Northumberland National Park Authority and partners
  • Runners Up: The Chartwell Explorer, Kent County Council and Partners