The first ever Bus Industry Awards were presented at the Merchant Taylor's Hall in the City of London in November 1996. An audience of some 200 from around the country joined transport minister John Watts to hear the results of the five award categories.

They were:

UK Bus Operator of the Year, sponsored by Belmont International

  • Bluebird Buses
  • Runners Up: Citybus/NIR/Ulsterbus

Infrastructure Award, Sponsored by Queensbury Shelters

Joint winners:
  • Leeds Super Busway,  Leeds City Council
  • The Cotgrave Connection, Nottinghamshire County Council

Marketing Initiative Award - Bus Operator

  • The Unibus, First Cymru

Runners Up:  

  • Gold Service, First Aberdeen
  • The Collect’n’Save Promotion, Stagecoach Busways

Marketing Initiative Award - Local Authority/Joint

  • York Park and Ride, First York and City of York Council
  • Runners Up: The ‘Pee Tee’ Club, South Yorkshire PTE

Innovation Award

Joint winners:
  • The ASTI Project, Camden Community Transport
  • Moneyback Guarantee Scheme, Trent Buses
Joint Runners Up:
  • The Entrance Project, Hampshire County Council
  • Next Stop Indicators, Route 18, London Transport Buses

The TEG logoThe UK Bus Awards scheme is organised by The Bus Industry Awards Limited, a company registered in England & Wales No 3332837.

Registered Office: Albion House, Rope Walk, Otley Street, Skipton, North Yorkshire, BD23 1ED.

Telephone 0330 010 3450

All material in this web site is copyright. © The Bus Industry Awards Limited.

Joomla! is Free Software released under the GNU/GPL License.