Awards Results


The Bus Industry Awards for 2001 were presented at London's prestigious Hilton Hotel at a lunchtime ceremony on Tuesday 20 November. A keynote speech was given by Gwyneth Dunwoody MP, Chair of the transport select committee, but a parliamentary problem meant that she was unable to stay to present the trophies. Professor David Begg, chair of the Commission for Integrated Transport, stepped in at the last minute to give out the trophies.  

Twelve Award categories covered projects designed to improve accessibility, customer service, marketing and the environment. There were 130 entries covering 247 organisations this year.

Winners line up in the ballroom at the London Hilton Hotel

The winners proved the old adage that three always come at once for many of Britain’s best-known bus companies and groups.

Trent & Barton Buses, an independent bus operator based in Heanor, Derbyshire, won the prestigious Marsh UK Bus Operator of the Year Award for the second time. Runners up for the big prize last year, the company achieved three successes in three years.

Operator Arriva scored in three award categories; in the Viacom Outdoor Marketing Award for Bus Operators they scooped both prizes. Their Summer Bulletin won the Buses for Pleasure Award, and they were joint runners-up for the new Eureka! Award for unique marketing projects.

Short-listed finalists for 2001 line up at the Ardencote Manor in WarwickshireStagecoach also managed three triumphs, winning the Eureka! Award, the Queensbury Shelters Infrastructure Award and coming second in the new Transport for London Award for the London Bus Garage of the Year.

THE area to come out on top in 2001 was Yorkshire. As well as Arriva Yorkshire's runners up prize in the Viacom Outdoor Marketing Award for Bus Operators, there were wins for West Yorkshire PTE in the Bus in the Countryside category, and for the East Leeds quality bus partnership. Known as Elite, the recently-opened scheme achieved two awards, winning the Marketing Award for Local Authorities & Joint Projects and the runners-up prize for the Claudia Flanders Memorial Award. The day was capped for the White Rose county when local operator Keighley & District was named joint runner up in the prestigious Marsh UK Bus Operator of the Year competition.

Marsh UK Bus Operator of the Year Award

  • Winner: Trent & Barton Buses
  • Joint runner-up: Brighton & Hove Bus and Bus Company Ltd
  • Joint runner-up: Keighley & District Travel

Queensbury Shelters Infrastructure Award

  • Winner: Stagecoach in Fife & Fife Council: Ferrytoll Park & Ride
  • Runner-up: Translink Ulsterbus: Bangor Bus & Rail Centre

Transport for London Award for the London Bus Garage of the Year

  • Winner: Orpington First London Garage 
  • Runner-up: Plumstead Garage – Stagecoach London

Schlumberger Sema Award for Innovation

  • Winner: ACIS: Intelligent Bus Priority System
  • Runner-up: Alert Safety Technologies: Safescape

Viacom Outdoor Marketing Award for Bus Operators

  • Winner: Arriva Passenger Services: Going Your Way
  • Runner-up: Arriva Yorkshire: Kids for a Quid

Accessibility: The Claudia Flanders Award, sponsored by Tripscope

  • Winners: Translink Ulsterbus with Omnibus Partnership: Translink Disability Strategy
  • Runner-up: Elite Partnership: Elite; East Leeds Quality Bus Initiative

Bus in the Countryside Award

  • Winner: West Yorkshire PTE (METRO) & partners: Denby Dale Rural Transport Project
    With partners Kirklees Metropolitan Borough Council, Denby Dale Parish Council, local bus & rail operators and local businesses & community groups
  • Runner-up: Devon County Council & partners: Life in the Bus Lane
  • Specially Commended: East Riding of Yorkshire & partners: Medibus
    With partners NHS Hospital Trusts, local primary community care groups, and local voluntary groups

Buses for Pleasure Award

  • Winner: Arriva North East / Northumbria: Arriva Summer Bulletin
  • Runner-up: Translink Ulsterbus: ABC Scheme - Access by Bus to the Countryside

Environment Award

  • Winner: London Bus Services: Cleaner Air for London
  • Runner-up: Express Travel (Holdings): Express Travel Quality

Eureka! Award

  • Winner: Stagecoach UK Bus: Fuelsaver
  • Joint runner-up: Arriva Midlands North: Blueline CD Mailer
  • Joint runner-up: First Leeds: Rider 7 – St Valentine’s Day Launch

Marketing Award for Local Authorities & Joint Projects

  • Winners: Elite Partnership: Elite, the East Leeds Quality Bus Initiative
    West Yorkshire PTE, Leeds City Council, Coach House Marketing, First Leeds and Arriva Yorkshire
  • Runner-up: Lancs County Council & Preston Community Transport: Garstang Super 8

The Wedlake Saint Award for Services to the Bus Industry

  • Russell Richardson, MD, Optare

The TEG logoThe UK Bus Awards scheme is organised by The Bus Industry Awards Limited, a company registered in England & Wales No 3332837.

Registered Office: Albion House, Rope Walk, Otley Street, Skipton, North Yorkshire, BD23 1ED.

Telephone 0330 010 3450

All material in this web site is copyright. © The Bus Industry Awards Limited.

Joomla! is Free Software released under the GNU/GPL License.