Awards Results


Finalists for the 2000 awards gathered at the NECThe awards for 2000 were presented at the London Hilton Hotel on Park Lane, and the guest of honour was transport minister Keith Hill MP, attending the ceremony for the second successive year.

It was the year of the partnership entry, as all but two of the major awards went to integrated projects. Essex County Council shared the honours with the Arriva company for the Marsh UK Marketing Initiative Award, and Birmingham City Council, Lancashire County Council and Translink of Belfast won awards with their respective partner organisations.

One of the benefits of the Bus Industry Awards is the ability to provide a level playing field for small projects. This case was proven when MTRU’s Wigglybus Project from Wiltshire won the Bus in the Countryside Award, and when the volunteer-dependent Cuckmere Community Bus took the Buses for Pleasure Award. Both projects were partnership entries.

Identifying excellence and best practice across the full range of UK bus activity, Bus Industry Awards categories recognise improvements to the reliability and accessibility of bus services, provision of better information for passengers, development of rural bus networks and environmental improvements.

BIA Director, Chris Cheek, said, “Some 4,300 million passenger journeys are made by bus every year, more than four times the number made by train.”

“Encouraged by the Government’s key transport policy objectives, integration and partnership between bus operators, local authorities and others are creating innovative new strategies. These are paving the way to the future success of an industry which remains firmly at the heart of the nation.”

Belmont International Bus Operator of the Year Award

  • Winner: Arriva the Shires and Essex
  • Runner-up: Trent & Barton Buses, of Heanor, Derbyshire

Marsh UK Marketing Initiative Award – Local Authority / Joint

  • Winner: Arriva the Shires and Essex and Essex County Council
  • Runner-up: BAA Gatwick with West Sussex County Council & Metrobus

Marsh UK Marketing Initiative – Bus Operator

  • Winner: Brighton & Hove Bus & Coach Co
  • Runner-up: Arriva the Shires and Essex

TDI Marketing First Award

  • Winner: Arriva Fox County, of Leicester
  • Runner-up: First Bradford

Claudia Flanders Memorial Award for Accessibility, sponsored by Tripscope

  • Winner: Translink, of Belfast, with The Omnibus Partnership
  • Runner-up: Lincolnshire Road Car Ltd with Lincolnshire County Council

Wedlake Saint 2000 Award for Services to the Bus Industry

  • Recipient: Veronica Palmer, OBE, Director General, CPT UK

Sema Group Innovation Award

  • Winner: Birmingham City Council and partners
  • Runner-up: ADBUS, of Harrogate

Queensbury Shelters Infrastructure Award

  • Winner: Lancashire County Council and partners
  • Runner-up: South Yorkshire PTE

Bus in the Countryside Award

  • Winner: MTRU and partners for Wigglybus, based in Devizes
  • Runner-up: Lancashire County Council and partners

Buses for Pleasure Award

  • Winner: The Cuckmere Community Bus and partners, of East Sussex
  • Runner-up: Brecon Beacons National Park and partners

The Environment Award

  • Winner: Express Travel (Holdings), Liverpool
  • Runner-up: Merseytravel